The Invention of Wings

inventionofwings

I recently finished the book, “The Invention of Wings” by Sue Monk Kidd.  Quite some time ago, I read her well known book “The Secret Life of Bees” and really enjoyed it.  Then she came out with another interesting sounding novel, “The Mermaid Chair”.  Holy smoke.  The difference between those two books was amazing.  One was interesting and readable, the other was NOT.  Needless to say, after reading “The Mermaid Chair”, I had reluctance regarding EVER reading another book by this author.  Then “The Invention of Wings” came out, and was getting rave reviews, so I decided to take it on.  It was SO good!  Really, really liked this book, set in the early part of the 19th century, both in the deep south as well as a bit in Philadelphia.  By now, everyone knows I love history… and a good historical novel based on fact makes me very, very happy!  This book ticked all the boxes.  I particularly loved that it was not set DURING the Civil War (as SO many books in this setting are), but instead, well before the war started, so we could get a more real feel of how life really was.  It’s a book about the interaction between slaves and slave owners, and the beginnings of the abolitionist movement.  I really enjoyed it and definitely recommend it!  My faith is restored in Ms Monk-Kidd!  🙂

Leave a Reply

