Another “Irish Country Doctor” book

Believe it or not, I just finished reading book number TEN in the Irish Country Doctor series by Patrick Taylor.  It is no secret that I adore these books, and the newest one was no exception.

Irish doctor peace

This time the book was set (as is often the case) in two eras – the 1940’s and the 1960’s.  We vacillated back and forth between Dr O’Reilly’s time spent in the Royal Navy during WWII, and the “present day” – which for the fictional town of Ballybucklebo, is about 1966.  Since I enjoy all sorts of WWII history, I was equally enthralled with both sides of the story.  As always, I feel like I know the folks in that little town, and am always eager to find out what happens next!  I got this book from my local library.  This is the first time I have ever actually read one of these novels.  All the others were “read” by me in the form of audio books.  I have to admit that I really missed the fabulous narration by John Keating – who does the voices of all the townsfolk in total perfection!!!!  At the end of this volume, the author promises that there will indeed be more to come – YAY!  I predict I’ll make an effort to get my paws on the audio version for the next one.  Interesting tidbit: This Irish born author now lives not too far away from here, on Saltspring Island, British Columbia.

Leave a Reply

