January reading……

Well, here we are, nearly the end of the month, time for me to list the books I’ve read so far.  I must admit, a couple were started in December but finished in January, therefore they count as January books 🙂

A Midwife’s Story

midwifeThis book was written in 1985 or thereabouts and set in Pennsylvania Amish country.  I found it very interesting and could totally relate when the author described a typical hospital birth of the era, compared to a home birth.  I’m sure I’ve attended over 1000 deliveries with my total responsibility towards the infant, not the mother.  Honestly, I could write a book myself, recounting some the the unusual and sometimes horrifying things I’ve personally seen.   Maybe someday.  Anyway, this was a very good book if you are interested in midwifery and/or the Amish.  I’m intrigued with both!

A Homemade Life

homemade life

I like to think of myself as somewhat of a “foodie” although there are a few foods I will not go near – and true “foodies” better be ready to try anything!  This book was written in 2009  by the author of “Orangette” a food blog that is still in existence.  I really enjoyed how Ms Wizenberg managed to link different events and periods in her own life, with incredible sounding food!!  She also includes recipes, and that’s the big reason I haven’t been able to bring myself to pass this book along.  I don’t want to lose the recipes!  The setting is Oklahoma, Paris, and Seattle.  The author still lives in Seattle, recently had her first child, and owns two restaurants in the Ballard neighborhood of the city.  Great reading if you enjoy eating, cooking, and reading about food.

The Kingmaker’s Daughter

kingmaker

This was Philippa Gregory’s latest story in the LONG-ONGOING “Cousin’s war” series, describing the events surrounding the War of the Roses.  I love history and now I’ve read 4 books by this author on this subject.  I think I’ve got the story from pretty much everyone’s perspective available! This one was the view from Queen Anne, wife to King Richard III.  Time to move on, Ms Gregory, time for a new subject!  I listened to this book on audio CD, (13 CD’s, each over an hour) and it took me quite a while, but I stuck with it.  It was not exactly “riveting” subject matter, but since I do love history, I found it interesting.  Honestly, this author does an incredible job at research – and it shows…. but I do hope that the War of the Roses has finally come to an end!

The Persian Pickle Club

Persian Pickle Club

I think this may be the 4th novel I’ve read by Sandra Dallas.  I’d give this about 3 stars out of 5 – if I were giving it a rating.  It was good and I think it portrayed the dust bowl 1930’s in Kansas pretty well.  There are many references to quilting in this book, and while I’m not a quilter, I do love and admire a nice quilt!  The Persian Pickle club is the quilters guild in their little jerkwater town.  You get to know all the quilters and most of their families as well, so large amounts of names are bantered about in this rather small book.  Still it was pretty good, and I continue to like Ms Dallas, and will probably read more of hers.

Starting a new book today which will undoubtedly show up at the end of next month as part of February’s reading.  Wow, if all I had to do was read all day long, I’d be one very happy camper!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

