Some books I read in 2012

carole-king-a-natural-woman_510I think this year I’ll do a monthly recap of the books I’ve read.  Last year I was horrible at keeping up with my book log.  Just for the fun of it, I’ll list a few of the books I read in 2012, and then I’ll go on to January’s books later this month.

Some 2012 Books, in no particular order:

Hearts of Horses by Molly Gloss.  Really loved how this one started, actually I enjoyed most of the book, although the ending kinda fizzled out a bit.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.  I’m pretty sure someone at work encouraged me to read this as I am never attracted by sci-fi stories.  She was right when she said I wouldn’t be able to put it down.  Great book that grabs you from the start!

Catching Fire (book 2 of the Hunger Games) by Suzanne Collins.  I was so “into” the Hunger Games, that I watched the movie and then was anxious to get into book two.  For me it was a HUGE disappointment.  The author simply revisited the same storyline as book one (for the most part), and I’ll admit I was so mad I didn’t finish it.  For crying out loud, couldn’t she come up with a new premise?  Needless to say I won’t be reading the third in the trilogy even though I have been encouraged to.

Mosaic by Amy Grant. This was an autobiography of the singer, and I listened to this one on CD’s. What was nice about the CD version was that occasionally she broke out into song, which I loved.  The story of her life – well up to this point – I found very interesting.  I’ve always liked Amy and also her husband, Vince Gill.

A Natural Woman by Carole King.  Here was another autobiography that I listened to over several weeks’ time.  Again, I was fascinated by her life story… all her kids and husbands, as well as  all the amazing songs she wrote or co-wrote. Like Amy Grant’s autobiography, Carole also sang here and there in this audio version of  her book.  Loved it!

Nearing Home by Billy Graham.  I may not be in my 60’s yet, but some days I feel like I am!  That said, it was interesting to hear Rev Graham’s perspective on growing older… and especially how an older person can continue to contribute to life and society and family.  Very inspirational.

The School of Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermeister.  I like books written by people who love food and who know how to cook or bake.  This was a work of fiction, about a group of 8 people who gather weekly for a cooking class.  The author is from Seattle and the book was set in Seattle, so it was fun to read about some familiar landmarks.  The story was quite good too.

Wonderland Creek by Lynn Austin.  This is in the category of Christian historical fiction.  I listened to this one on CD’s and while some of it was a bit implausible, I really liked it.  It was set mostly in the back woods of Kentucky in the 1930’s and was about a girl who ended up being a librarian on horseback. One thing that was interesting was that they really did have library helpers delivering books via horseback for a time!  Nice book that did manage to keep my interest.

Until we Reach Home by Lynn Austin.  Yep, another audio historical book by Ms Austin.  This one was set at the turn of the last century and was about three Swedish sisters who immigrate to the US – and all their trials and tribulations along the way.  I liked it and it kept my interest, I just wish she would have wrapped up the ending a bit better.

Killing Kennedy: The End of Camelot by Bill O’Reilly.  This was another audio book that hubby and I both listened to during a long drive from California to our home in Washington state.  I thought the insight into the Kennedy dynasty was fascinating, as were some of the tidbits of info I did not know about his assassin, Lee Oswald.  I was 8 years old when the President was killed and remember the day clearly. The book was good.  My only complaint is a similar one to other books by Mr O’Reilly – I get very frustrated with his narration of his own books.  The guy has trouble pronouncing everyday words! Drives me nuts!

Only Time Will Tell by Jeffrey Archer.  This book I picked up for hubby and after he read it he announced, “this is a woman’s book – you would really enjoy it!”  Okay… well, he’s said that before regarding some of the stuff he’s read, and for the most part he was wrong.  But not this time.  This was a great book set in England in the early part of the last century.  I really liked it and will be starting the sequel (which I have in my to-read pile) very soon!

irish weddingAn Irish Country Wedding by Patrick Taylor.  This is the 4th or 5th book I’ve read by Dr. Taylor who really IS from Ireland, although he now resides on Salt Spring Island off the coast of Vancouver BC.  I have loved them all – I mean LOVED THEM – and this was no exception!  They are all set in the fictitious town of Ballybucklebo in Northern Ireland and take place in the early 1960’s.  It surrounds the life and times of the local GP, Dr Fingal Flaherty O’Reilly and his sidekick Dr Barry Laverty.  You get to know all the town characters… and they keep appearing in all the books.  I was so anxious to read this one and like I said before, I SIMPLY LOVED IT!  My secret: I get all of these “Irish Country Doctor” books on CD.  I’m sure they would be lovely in print as well, but once I listened to one of them, I have had to listen to them ALL!  I love the narrator (John Keating) who has read/narrated every one of these novels.  His accent is divine, and you know which character is speaking, just by the tone of his voice.  I highly recommend this book and would certainly suggest starting with the first, An Irish Country Doctor which came out several years ago.

I’m sure there were more that I read last year, but those are the ones that come to mind right now that were not already posted under my tab of “Books 2012”.  Be on the lookout towards the end of the month for the January update of “books I’ve read”!!

Leave a Reply

