An Irish Country Girl by Patrick Taylor

I recently finished the fourth novel by this Irish Canadian author who is also a legitimate MD.  Again I listened to this book on CD which for me is the ONLY way to “read” Dr. Taylor’s books.  I absolutely love the excellent narrators/readers he has chosen to do the audio versions of his books.  So much would be lost by having to imagine the fabulous Irish accents.   I’ve enjoyed each and every novel which surround the  fictional village of  Ballybucklebo in Northern Ireland.  This book takes us back in time to the 1920’s where we learn all about the young life of Doctor Fingal Flahertie O’Reilly’s housekeeper, Mrs Kinky Kincaid.  I wasn’t at all sure I was going to enjoy all the Irish lore – particularly involving faeries and the “Doov Shee” – but I hung in there, and I’m glad I did.  This was another lovely glimpse into what it truly may have been like, living in Ireland at the time.  We get to know all about the path of life that was taken by the loveable housekeeper before she began to work for Dr. O’Reilly so many years ago.  I thoroughly enjoyed this book — so much so that I’ve begun the next in the series already.  It’s called “An Irish Country Courtship” and yes, I’m listening to this one also.  I hope Patrick Taylor just keeps the books a comin’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

