A bad back, a bad tooth, and….. menu plans!

I’m going to preface this update by saying I think we are very lucky to live where we live….  much of the US is covered in snow and ice, power outages everywhere, and Australia is having a Typhoon.  Here in our little green corner of the world, no wind is blowing, no rain or snow is falling, and we’re thankful.  Yes, it’s good to start out by being thankful, because this has not been a stellar week so far.  On Saturday I was determined to get active on our Wii Fit.  I noticed the balance board wasn’t working, so of course the logical thing to do would be to  put in new batteries.  After all, it had only been 376 days since I’d had the thing on!!  (I know that because when I did get it up and running, that’s what it told me!)  While bending over, inserting the 4 new batteries, I pulled something in my back.  Oh glory be.  I’ve done it many times before, starting years ago when I was both young AND not-fat!  So, I’ve got a testy, persnickety back – that’s for sure.  Unfortunately this time it has kept me down for more than a day or two.  I spent all day Sunday pretty much on my back.  Monday I made it to the couch but not much further.  Tuesday my dear husband heard my pleas and got me an electric heating pad.  Tuesday was spent with said heating pad on back.  By the evening I was starting to feel semi-human again.  Yes, why not celebrate the healing of the back by indulging in a bowl of homemade popcorn?  Lovely idea.  Not.  While happily consuming the old-fashioned pop-in-a-pan-on-the-stove popcorn, I did it.  I bit down on something I shouldn’t have… and yes, you guessed it, cracked a tooth.  “When it rains, it pours” I’ve been known to say.  Lucky for me I’m able to walk again…. right into the dentist’s office today.  Found out I need a crown – no surprise I guess.

On another note, before I messed up my back and before I cracked my tooth, I made up my early February menu plan.  Call me crazy or call me organized, but I really DO like to make menu plans. It also is a big help when making up the weekly grocery list.  I try to pick out dishes that will make use of stuff we already have at home… sometimes I’m successful, sometimes less so.  I always have to keep in mind that hubby will not touch chicken in any form (unfortunately, as I love it).  The menus are not written in stone, they are a general guideline and if I don’t feel like cooking or we decide to go out – that’s what we do.  We live about 20 minutes to a decent restaurant, so it’s fair to say we don’t go out for dinner very often.  Since we are still trying hard to watch our caloric intake, I took most of my recipes from the Jan/Feb issues of my favorite foodie magazine, “Everyday Food”.  So, here’s how it looks for the next few days around here…….

FEB 2   Pasta with Roasted Veggies

 

 

The roasted veggies.

Roasted veggies mixed with whole wheat pasta

 

FEB 3  Grilled Steak (we got NY strip on sale this week for $4.99/lb – amazing!)

Kale with tomato, garlic and thyme

FEB 4  Tacos (whole wheat tortillas) & Vegetarian refried beans

FEB 5  Pork Curry on brown rice

FEB 8  Spicy Shrimp Caesar Salad (I’ve made this before, SUPER yummy!)

FEB 9  Homemade Hawaiian Pizza (using Trader Joe’s whole wheat pizza dough)

FEB 10  Sweet & Sour Pork Stir-fry with brown rice

You may have noticed that some days are not addressed.  These are days that I am scheduled to work and hubby is ON HIS OWN!!!!   We have really tried to improve our eating habits.  Smaller portions, few snacks, drinking more water.  It’s working!  So far I’ve lost half a stone (look that one up, fellow Americans) – which for me is a great start 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

