Two great meals

 

foodAnyone who knows me, knows that I love to cook.  And eat – (especially my own cooking).  Part two of that equation can be a problem, but honestly I am working on portion control!  That’s exactly what I need, portion control!!    Believe it or not, I used to spend hours in the kitchen watching my mom cook and bake.  I could lean over the stove from behind and watch everything  just like a camera on the TV cooking shows.  It was there that I learned how to make gravy (among a zillion other things).  Mom was a great cook and I guess that’s where I got my knack – so to speak.   I’ve actually had a couple of my recipes published in Taste of Home magazine (years ago, before that magazine changed considerably).   I still enjoy subscribing to one “foodie” magazine, “Everyday Food” put out by the folks at Martha Stewart Living.  In addition to magazines, I also love to watch the Food Network.  I’m crazy for the Barefoot Contessa, although I don’t make too many of her recipes.  Another show I enjoy watching is “Big Daddy’s House”.  You just gotta love this guy!   He makes real food for real people.  

Just for fun, here are a couple of my recent successes.    Number one –  Roasted Vegetables (or how to use up bits of veggie in your fridge!). 

Pretty much ANY veggie will do for this recipe

Pretty much ANY veggie will do for this recipe

Step one:Gather up any veggies you may have on hand.  I had quite a group of stuff I wanted to use up before we left on vacation about a month ago.  Carrots, celery, a zucchini, one sweet potato, an onion, some green beans, a few broccoli florets, mushrooms, and some bell peppers.   Step two: peel and cut into moderate sized chunks. 

All cut up and ready to go

 Since I did all the chopping in advance of dinner, I put everything into a plastic bag.   Here it is, all ready for the next step.  Step Three:  Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Spray a baking pan with non-stick coating such as “Pam” (you don’t absolutely have to do that, but it does reduce sticking).  Put all your veggies on the pan and drizzle with olive oil, kosher salt, and freshly ground pepper. 

On the pan and ready for the oven

On the pan and ready for the oven

 

Here they are, all ready for the oven.  Bake for approx 40 minutes.  It’s impossible to not like the finished product – unless you hate veggies in the first place!   

Dinner is served!

Dinner is served!

 

 I apologize that this picture is not as bright as I wanted it.  However, hopefully you can see the roasted veggies, right next to the rice pilaf and grilled flank steak.  Delightful. 

My next recent success involved fish.  Salmon to be exact.  My dear husband loves to catch them, but is simply not enthralled with eating pretty much any fish, but especially salmon.  Of course we all know that salmon is “good for you” so my mission was to find a recipe he would actually enjoy.  I have tried many different ways to prepare salmon, but honestly, this one wowed both of us!  I got this recipe after watching a recent episode of Big Daddy’s House.  Click here to get the recipe too!   In a rare move, I made “Big Daddy’s” entire menu that evening.  Blackened Salmon with Blue Cheese Sauce,  Lemon Pepper Orzo, and Spicy Swiss Chard.  We loved it all.  Every last bite!  Here is a picture of the “salmon success” 🙂cooking09-014I must admit that while we are definite blue cheese lovers, I happened to have some Gorgonzola on hand and used that in the sauce.  It was divine!  It is going to be hard to “top” this meal, and I probably won’t for a while.  But in the meantime, it’s time to simply figure out what’s for dinner tonight!

3 thoughts on “Two great meals

  1. I can’t wait to try the roasted veggies…they look so tasty!! Thanks for sharing! We have blue skies and lots of sunshine this morning!! What a beautiful day after several cool, rainy days. Bring on Spring!!

Leave a Reply

