Family visit

Wow, my life has sure been busy lately.  Seems like forever since I added a post to my blog.  Hopefully that trend is changing!  As I sit here at my desk, merrily typing away, I can see… yes once again… snowflakes fly past my window.  I hate to admit it, but it’s depressing.  Welcoming snow in March is oh-so-very-hard-to-do.  Especially when a person must  drive in it…. All I can say is I hope it ends soon, and I hope the prediction of up to 5 inches is incorrect.  What the heck – in a week and a bit, dear hubby and I will be trekking to the land of warmth and sunshine ~ Florida.  I simply cannot wait to feel the sun on my face.  But enough about that for now.  

Last week I made it over the mountains (between storms, thankfully) to visit my Dad, Brother, dear Son #2 and dear daughter-in-law (aka: DIL!).  It’s a four hour drive, but so totally worth it.  My brother helped me figure out some important stuff about our taxes; I got to hang out with Dad and cook him a few tasty dinners; I got to meet my new grand-puppy, LUCY; I got to spend the evenings with DS and DDIL; I got to spend most of one day doing some “retail therapy” with DDIL — OH what fun that was!  Only moms who never had daughters (and women who didn’t have a sister – like me) can understand what a special treat it is to have a very special female family member to go shopping with.  We sort of celebrated a late Christmas as well, since nobody was going anywhere last December (due to very nasty weather).  Now for some photos!!

little Lucy.  Who can resist a beagle puppy? SO CUTE!

little Lucy. Who can resist a beagle puppy? SO CUTE!

 

Lucy joins big brother Buckley, shown here with dear DIL

Lucy joins big brother Buckley, shown here with dear DIL

me, li'l Lu, and Mr. Bojangles

me, li'l Lu, and Mr. Bojangles

 Believe it or not, they are now a Three-Beagle-Family!  I love beagles (yup, even I owned one once) but for now, it’s great that I can just visit the happy doggie trio!  🙂

Here’s a picture of my Dad.  He is now 94 years old, and we are SO BLESSED to still have him.  He lives at home, although my brother now lives with him.  Dad still has all his wits and brains, and LOVES to talk politics!   I love this guy – and always have.  He is “multi-tasking” in this picture… listening to his favorite TV show (typically something on the Fox News channel) with his headphones, and reading the paper!

gramps-at-94

As mentioned, my dad and brother live together.  My brother is a CAT-lover (so am I!).  Here is a snapshot of one of my brother’s four fantastic cats!   They are all SO MUCH FUN.  Just glad I don’t have all that fur to deal with!  I think one cat will have to do for us for now. 

This is "Red".  What a happy cat!

This is "Red". What a happy cat!

Since we “sort of celebrated” Christmas… I want to share with you my gift.  Something I really wanted but never dreamed I’d get!  A panini grill!!  WOOHOO!  I had to try it out this week, and the next pictures will show my first (but hardly my last) attempt at making yummy sandwiches. 

New panini grill with first sandwich on board.

New panini grill with first sandwich on board.

Ham & Provolone with pineapple.  YUMMY!

Ham & Provolone with pineapple. YUMMY!

One thought on “Family visit

  1. Cute beagle! Yummy lunch! Lucy is so cute!! You need to let her parents know about Happy Tails Beagle List.

    It’s a fun place to meet other beagle owners.

    My Molly is 9 yrs old. WOW…can’t believe I’ve had her for 8.5 yrs. <;p]

    My other dog is named Lucy and she’s an 11 yr old Aussie Kelpie.

    XOXOXO sent to Lucy, the baby beagle.

    Ice Pony Girl
    Happy Tails Beagle List
    http://pets.groups.yahoo.com/group/happytails/

Leave a Reply

