This time, a photo post

Today, photos instead of a lot of words!  We are currently living in a winter wonderland here in the great Northwest… we have had record setting low temps, and now quite a bit of snow.  Before the snow flew, I snapped this first picture.  Yes, taken on December 11th.

I call it the "Christmas Rose".  Yes this was BLOOMING in my yard on December 11th!

I call it the "Christmas Rose". Yes this was BLOOMING in my yard on December 11th!

Then we had the renegade Geranium!  Yup, till this past week our climate had lived up to it’s reputation – MILD. 

A geranium dares to bloom in December!

A geranium dares to bloom in December!

We’ve had some furry friends visiting the bird feeder on a regular basis.

A brown squirrel and a larger gray squirrel, having a snack

A brown squirrel and a larger gray squirrel, having a snack

Some fine feathered friends visit each morning, begging for peanuts!

One of many Stellar Jays who love our peanuts

One of many Stellar Jays who love our peanuts

I’ve been doing a bit of holiday baking too.  I tried out my new silicone “bundt” cake pan for the first time the other day.  I love it!  Here’s what I made…

Orange-Cranberry cake

Orange-Cranberry cake

I’m particularly fond of Starbucks Orange-Cranberry scones, and while this is not quite the same, it sure was good!

Orange-cranberry cake with orange glaze

Orange-cranberry cake with orange glaze

Next I made one of hubby’s all time favorites… and folks, this turned out good enough to win a blue ribbon at your local fair!  It’s unfortunately all gone already….  Thank you Martha Stewart for the fool-proof recipe!

Peanut Brittle! And isn't that the cutest plate EVER?! (thanks to dear DIL!)

Peanut Brittle! And isn't that the cutest plate EVER?! (thanks to dear DIL!)

Now for a couple snowy shots.  Oh how I love the way the holly berries turn red, right on time, just before Christmas.

Christmas Holly

Christmas Holly

 The snow has been falling nearly all day today.  Here is a view of our back deck.

A beautiful snowy day in the Northwest

A beautiful snowy day in the Northwest

Since I took the above picture, we’ve received another several inches of snow.  I am so thankful there is no where I need to be today, except right here at home!  🙂

One thought on “This time, a photo post

  1. Lovely seeing your garden and the birds in all their winter glory…….may I be able to visit and have a wine or two on your deck some day……Love Glenda

Leave a Reply

