The fall baking bug

Yup, it’s that time of year again.  The time when the fall baking “bug” nibbles on me just a little bit.  I used to bake a lot a few years back when I had two kids at home who enjoyed desserts.  Nowadays I rarely bake anything – but when the rainy days of Autumn set in, I usually get the urge to put something delicious in my oven and wait for the aroma to fill my home.  Today it was the All-American Apple Pie!  I used a recipe from a new book I got (real cheap) online by Dorie Greenspan, “Baking from my home to yours”.  Believe it or not, there are dedicated bakers out there who have committed to baking up to four of her recipes a month until they have made them all!  Yep, you can find these dedicated bakers at Tuesdays With Dorie – a blog here on WordPress.  I was SO tempted to join in the fun!  I even bought the book (which is a requirement) but then my better sense took over.  I knew there was no way I would be able to make all the goodies… and after preparing them, just WHO would have to eat them?  So, I didn’t sign up to join the Tuesday Bakers.  But here are some pictures of today’s accomplishment — the All American Apple Pie.

Mixing the apple filling

Mixing the apple filling

 

Ready for the oven

Ready for the oven

 

Cooling on the counter ... YUM!

Cooling on the counter ... YUM!

Lookin’ pretty tasty, huh?  Personally, I can’t wait till I can dive in and give it a try 🙂  

One of my favorite Food Network stars is Ina Garten, the Barefoot Contessa.  I am thrilled that she has new episodes starting this coming weekend 🙂  Believe it or not, there are a group of Ina Garten fans online also!  They have committed to making two of Ina’s recipes (from any of her cookbooks) every month and then showing the results in their blogs.  They’re called the Barefoot Bloggers!  Again, I was soooo tempted to sign up with their group as well.  I have all of her cookbooks and LOVE her food… but I just knew that keeping up with it would be difficult – so I fought off the temptation. 

Now it’s time to think up something nice for dinner… something that goes with Apple Pie!!!

One thought on “The fall baking bug

  1. Hello. I was just checking out my first blog ‘Holy Tornado’ and found you. I’m not sure how I lost your URL but am glad to have it again.
    Your recipe sounds do good. There’s something about fall and spicy apple desserts that just go together.
    I have some Gravenstein apples that need to be made into pies for the freezer, but I have a feeling that one small one will be baked for me to have right then and there!

Leave a Reply

