Plants around the house

How can it be?  Autumn is already sneaking up on us and beginning her marvelous color show.  I’ve always loved this time of year.  Actually when I was living those four years in Southern California, I desperately missed the transforming of the seasons.  I missed the huge differences in the length of the days… waking up to cool, crisp mornings, and most especially the gorgeous autumnal changing colors.  Here is a snapshot taken this cool, rather cloudy afternoon, off our back deck, showing just the beginning of yellow taking over on the leaves of the wild cherry trees.

Hint of yellow just showing up on the wild cherry trees.

Hint of yellow just showing up on the wild cherry trees.

In a way, the beginning of Autumn is bittersweet.  It means the end… the death of the lovely flowers of summer.   Here’s one of my hanging baskets – obviously on it’s last leg.

The end of the line for the Verbena basket

The end of the line for the Verbena basket

While most of summer’s flowers are at their end, others are breaking into full bloom!  Here’s a mum basket I purchased and positioned at the front of our home.  LOVE IT! 

 

 

 

 

 

I think I may have inherited a love for plants, both indoor and outdoor, from my Mom.  I can hardly believe she’s been gone almost four years.  I know she’s happy in Heaven, probably enjoying nurturing a garden there! 

Last week I tried for the first time to propagate African violets from leaves!  I followed directions in my much-loved garage sale indoor plant book… took the leaf cuttings, dipped them in rooting hormone powder, and have planted them just as instructed at a 45 degree angle into the soil.  Now patience must take over because it can take up to three months for the “plantlets” to appear.  Here are my two African Violet plants, and the 4-leaf experiment — in progress. 

African Violets on my kitchen window sill

African Violets on my kitchen window sill

Leaf cuttings from my white/purple African Violet

Leaf cuttings from my white/purple African Violet

This summer I allowed one of my indoor plants to grow like crazy without any trimming like I usually do.  About two weeks ago I noticed there were two red “tassel” like things hanging off of it!  I’d never seen anything like that before – in fact, I don’t even know what the name of the plant is!  Well, the tassel like things have BLOOMED!  Here are a couple of pictures showing the suprising flowers from the mystery plant. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

They are an amazing, tiny, perfect, pink and red, sort of fuzzy, flower!  If anyone has a clue what this plant is, PLEASE tell me! 

I do love my indoor plants — I can keep them safe and protected from those darned deer!  For some reason, the deer have ignored my big pot of mums – for which I am eternally grateful!  Ok, enough about my plants and how I love them! 🙂  Any other plant lovers out there?

4 thoughts on “Plants around the house

  1. Jayne, thanks for the guess! I will look it up online and see if Hoya is it! It is definitely not in my “indoor plant” book, that’s for sure. Thanks! 🙂

  2. Pingback: This and that – what’s on my mind « More Mizsuzee’s Musings

Leave a Reply

