This post is about food!

Well, not entirely, but it did get your attention didn’t it?? 🙂  I’m just starting to catch my breath after the whirlwind of activities the past few days!  On Saturday, we attended the college graduation of dear DIL at Western Washington University.  Summer graduation is normally not as big as the traditional spring one, but it was still pretty packed in the auditorium.  As luck would have it, the day was gorgeous and sunny.  Here’s a pic of the happy graduate and her proud husband!

 

 

After graduation, we all went out to lunch at Anthony’s – a fantastic fresh seafood restaurant.  The halibut and chips were ohhh so good!   Unfortunately we couldn’t stay as long as we would have liked, as we had an afternoon wedding to attend!  I took some photos at the wedding but they didn’t come out at all… I think it may be time for a new camera – one that can actually zoom in and still take a clear picture!   There’s something to be said for weddings, I think.  I mean, every time we go to one, I listen to the words of those wedding vows and silently make them my own -again.  It’s easy to forget what all we promised to, years ago… in sickness and in health, for richer for poorer… and all that.  Ok, I’m a softie – I love weddings!   The reception was a lot of fun too – great food, music, and lots of friends from dear hubby’s workplace.  We ended up staying much longer than we thought we would. 

The next day it rained.  Actually, it poured.  Evidendce: 

Puddles accumulating on the deck~

Puddles accumulating on the deck~

Mist through the trees

Mist through the trees

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All the rain inspired me to cook up a batch of my home made veggie soup!  Since August is one of the best months for local produce, I had oodles of fresh veggies in the fridge, waiting to be turned into a delightful rainy-day treat!  I grabbed a little of this and a little of that – and voila~  SOUP!  I will admit it was REALLY tasty… and, it ended up being our dinner more than once, there was so much of it.  I think what made the soup so yummy may have been the addition of the CHEESE MUFFINS I made to go along with it!!!  While the soup was really good (and oh-so-healthy), the CHEESE MUFFINS were “to die for”!  Of course that is being said by a self proclaimed cheese freak (AKA-me!). 

)

Mizsuzee's homemade veggie soup. The black thing is a ladle 🙂

CHEESE MUFFINS!  ooh-la-la

CHEESE MUFFINS! ooh-la-la

This was my first (but certainly NOT the last) time making the delectable CHEESE MUFFINS 🙂  I have to give credit where credit is due– I got this recipe from the “Pioneer Woman’s” website.  I love her blog, her photography, and her recipes.  Here’s the link if you would like to make some CHEESE MUFFINS of your very own! One thing that makes the recipe section of her website so neat is that she takes snapshots of every step of preparation.  She makes it all look so easy, and honestly, the CHEESE MUFFINS were super easy!  Ohhhhh, which one of her recipes shall I attempt next???? 

One thought on “This post is about food!

  1. Here’s how you keep your wedding vows alive and kicking: print them out and then read them every single day of your life. There are many ways to do this.
    1. Each partner reads them separately before they go to sleep, that way infusing them into the mind while they are sleeping. Read them together at least once a month.
    2. Read them together every night. This presents a perfect opportunity to create a space for conversation.
    3. Read them together every morning. That way you both go off to whatever or wherever it is you go to with a pattern of the dream that you wrote into your vows. The likelihood of encountering people, things, opportunities, experiences, and ideas that support and reflect those dreams are 10 times, or more, certain to be part of your life.

    Keep ‘living the dream.’ I give good inspiration at my web blog, http://www.weddingvowsandceremonies.com/blog.

    Keep cookin’!
    Rev. Linda Bardes, The Wedding Vow Coach

Leave a Reply

