Celtic Woman in the snow

For the longest time I had been looking forward to the Celtic Woman concert in Seattle – and last night was finally the night!  I think I have mentioned a time or two how much I enjoy Celtic (Irish) music.  When I hear it, it GRABS me and I honestly don’t know why.  Maybe there’s a drop or two of Irish blood in me, I’m really not sure – but OH HOW I love that music!  The concert was all I had hoped for and MORE!  What a fantastic surprise to find out that the “warm up” group for the Celtic gals was – The High Kings!  Woo HOO!  I recently discovered the High Kings – who are a new, all-male group of Irish singers, produced by the same people who put together Celtic Woman.  After listening to some of their stuff online (please click here to watch/listen), I downloaded their brand new CD and have been enjoying it for several weeks. 

After they performed, Celtic Woman did their thing for about 2 1/2 hours!  It was fantastic!  My only advice to them would be to sing more Irish songs and less American ones!  But then, that’s just my personal preference.  I’m particularly fond of the Irish fiddle and getting to see Mairead Nesbitt play that thing in person was such a thrill!!!!This girl is ultra-talented!  All in all, it was an enchanting evening! 

Getting home was another matter.  We drove through some of the most HORRIBLE blinding snow (what’s going on? SNOW in mid-APRIL??) I’ve ever encountered.  Thank God we chose to drive the 4-wheel-drive vehicle.  We have had a very nasty winter and the freak snowstorm yesterday just capped it off.  It’s still snowing today, but very lightly and it’s NOT sticking.  I am SO ready for summer that I can’t put it into words.  Seriously. 

One thought on “Celtic Woman in the snow

  1. That is awesome that you got to see Celtic Woman!!! I was fortunate enough to see them earlier this year! They are so amazingly talented and you are right —– Mairead can saw on that fiddle! (i wonder how many strings she goes through?!?!?!?!?!?!)

    It says something for devotion of fans when they drive through that kind of nasty weather.

    cg15

Leave a Reply

