Fall Baking

Pumpkin Currant CookiesWhat comes after “nesting”?  Baking, I guess.  We are in the middle of a nasty autumn wind/rain storm and I decided to risk it and make some cookies.  “Risk it” because living where we do, the wind often knocks over trees and power lines, and we end up in the dark for a time!  So far, so good.  The electricity went out just once so far… for about 30 seconds. 

I used to bake quite a lot, when the kids were still at home.  Cakes, pies, cookies, brownies, etc etc.  But in the past few years, baking has taken a back seat to general good cooking.  Neither hubby or I have a huge sweet tooth, although once in a while it hits me.  So today I tried to dream up something that would be sort of sweet, but also at least somewhat good for us.   I found this recipe on a blog I’ve been reading for years, Baking and Books.  It’s for “Pumpkin Currant Cookies” (please check out the recipe on the ‘Baking and Books’ website) and since I had all the ingredients, I dove right in.  Her recipe calls for olive oil, but I used organic canola oil instead.  I also added the chopped walnuts – they come from my dad’s back yard and are also totally organic 🙂  Throw in a bit of Trader Joe’s organic pumpkin, some organic whole wheat flour, and I have to say, these are delicious!  If you like really sweet desserts, then this is not for you.  If you like pumpkin and slightly sweet stuff, then you’ll love ’em!   

Now that the cookies are done, it’s time to pop in a pot roast with potatoes, carrots, onions, celery, and …. my English hubby’s favorite…….. parsnips.  He’ll love the smell as he walks in the door this evening 🙂

Leave a Reply

