All things new

Doctor visitWell, the holidays have come and gone in a whirlwind.  Between cooking, baking, visiting, entertaining, overnight visitors, more cooking, etc etc… I’m not at all sad to see it go.  Happy to see it arrive, yes…. but not sad to see it end.   I always seem to feel this way after it’s all said and done.  Exhausted relief.   Now another new year to look forward to.  🙂

I suppose most of us reflect, either at the end of the old year-or the beginning of the new, on our hopes, plans, & dreams for the upcoming year.  I know I usually do.  This year was no exception.  While there are lots of things I know I should change, there is one thing I really AM going to change.  I have not been to a doctor in YEARS!  I have not had my cholesterol checked, my bone density checked, my ‘going thru menopause’ hormone levels checked, and no, not even my annual (HA!) ‘female’ exam.  Soon, I’ll be able to say… “well yes, I’ve been in for my yearly check up!”   I’m done taking my good health for granted.  I know that high cholesterol runs in my family, and mine is probably through the roof!  My mother had terrible osteoporosis, and I sure don’t want that!  So I have to take this “health thing” by the horns and do all I can to preserve what I’ve got.  Therefore, later this month…. I’ll be visiting a doctor for the first time in years.  And yes, I have made the appointment!  <Smiling and patting myself on the back here!! >  

Wishing a very happy and HEALTHY new year to everyone!!

3 thoughts on “All things new

  1. Hi Susan… Just dropping by to wish you a happy new year… And I know what you mean about visiting the doctor… sigh… 2 and a half years ago I finally went in for a physical–you’l faint if I told you how long it had been since I’d had one! 🙂 Blessings, (and did I tell you I like the ‘new’ layout of your blog?) Debra

  2. Hi, dear friend,

    Wish I had the appointment made for me as well, I haven’t had my annual in about 4 years now. No insurance and not enough money, same old song and dance.

    I am happy to tell you that Vicky is doing well and she last told me her lower tummy is starting to pop out. Her due date is 7/31 and I really doubt she will carry to term. Being diabetic, it is about a guarantee. She said her afternoon sugars have been high, and mornings low, so when she sees the doctor tomorrow, he has some adjusting to do, plus I have a feeling that they will increase her shots as well.

    Drop me a line dear friend.

    Love and Hugs
    Mary

  3. Pingback: Transitioning from ‘07 to ‘08 « More Mizsuzee’s Musings

Leave a Reply

