Winter Wonderland

They warned us this may happen……….. SNOW in Western Washington!!!  And just in time to get us all in the mood for holiday festivities.  Here is a picture of what we woke to this morning… beautiful, isn’t it? november-2006-026.jpg Getting around can be somewhat dicey, but other than that, it’s nature’s beauty to behold. 

I *DO* love this time of year!  I have started to very slowly bring out of storage some of my many Gingerbread men & women.  I will include a picture of my most recent acquisition – an adorable Gingerbread Man potholder from Ross…. or was it TJ Maxx? november-2006-027.jpg Anyway, he is so cute and will be joining a “family” of Gingerbread folks here.  Yes, it is my one holiday collection – and seems to grow a bit each year.   Many years ago (10 or so), I used to have a collection of Department 56 Christmas houses and structures called “New England Village”.  Department 56 makes lots of those “villages” – but I always loved the New England one.  Last weekend, after going through dust and cobwebs in the garage, I found my remaining pieces and gave them willingly to my #2 son and daughter-in-law.  I knew I’d probably never put them up again…. but I do think that “the kids” will.  It would be great to pop over to their home and see The Lighthouse, The Old North Church, and Jacob Adams Farmhouse and Barn  (as well as others…) proudly displayed.  Dept 56 is still making New England Village, so who knows, they may add to the collection…some day.    Remember, you can click on any of the pictures to see them full size. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Winter Wonderland

  1. I enjoyed the picture of the snow….its really does help to put one in the holiday mood! I remember all those years of looking forward to the holidays and hoping for a White Christmas! I fondly remember your new England Village..and the photos you shared with me over the years!

  2. Hi Susan,
    I too remember your New England village……I still have some photos that you sent me all those years back…..Love Glenda

Leave a Reply

